My Top Twelve Photos of 2012

And it’s that time of year – here are my best or perhaps more aptly – my favorite photos from 2012 (in no particular order).

First, a photograph of the once thought extinct Cicindela floridana – taken while I was conducting research in Florida at the end this August. I was quite surprised when this individual allowed my to approach it and snap a series of shots – the majority of the time I can barely get within a foot of these minute beetles.

IMG_8695

Second, this shot of a grey hairstreak (read more here) was possibly my favorite butterfly photo of the year. While the composition is not very notable, it is the colors of the insect itself and the minute details which I find fascinating.

IMG_4390

Third, this image of a bright green inchworm hurrying along a tree trunk stuck in my mind, if for no other reason than for the copious numbers of these inchworms which “took over” my college campus this spring.

IMG_2561

Fourth, the menacing maw of this longhorn beetle (Orthosoma brunneum) was too neat to leave off this list.

IMG_1779

Fifth, the colors and details in this shot of a mantidfly (Zeugomantispa minuta) snagged it a place on this list.

IMG_1237

Sixth, and last for now, this photo of a female Xylocopa darwini Cockerell 1926 (OK, just the posterior end) building a nest was one of my favorite (insect) images from my trip to the Galapagos Islands in January of 2012.

IMG_0389

I will have another six images posted by the beginning of the week so stay tuned!

And here are the remaining six!

An ant tending a small “herd” of aphids:

IMG_9349

An ant grooming:
IMG_0236

I found this small spider tucked in a pocket of its web:

IMG_5802

This small cerambycid (Molorchus bimaculatus) busily removing pollen from its antenna:

IMG_1798

A minute pirate bug peruses a thrips across a dogwood bud.

IMG_6819

And last, two captive first instar Cicindela abdominalis:

IMG_0195

3 comments
  1. Chris do you have any ticks photos if so contact me at ticksurveillance.com

Leave a comment